I suppose that I should have written this before I hit the target but it felt a little presumptuous.

I now struggle to find the words to convey the joy and relief I feel in hitting the £10,000 #Kris10 target for Leukaemia Care this morning. Thank you is a good start.

It’s taken nearly 11 months and it’s been really, really difficult. The walk and the recent Big Finish auction pushed us hard towards the line but there have been plenty of moment where I felt that I’d bitten off more than I can chew. It’s hard not to take things personally especially when the cause is something so personal. I’ve developed some thicker skin and a newfound appreciation for professional fundraisers. In fact, I just don’t know how they do it, it’s an incredible skill.

Nearly 11 years ago I was diagnosed with leukaemia but you know that story. The story now is about supporting people who are diagnosed with a blood cancer today, tomorrow, next week… Treatment options are improving and we’re making inroads into earlier diagnosis. There is a huge psychological impact on the patient after diagnosis and the emotional impact leaves lots of damage. Leukaemia Care do an incredible job supporting patients and families with the seismic shift a diagnosis brings and this money will make a difference.

Is there a better Christmas gift? We’ll save lives with this and given that you are reading this you are likely to have been part of this story and I genuinely can’t thank you enough for your support.

There’s always a long way to go; work like this will never end and our relentless commitment to making people’s lives better is worth it.

So, take the baton, run a marathon, jump out of a plane, fly down a zip wire or sit in a bath of beans. Go and write your own story. I’m done for now. It’s nap time. Happy Christmas.

www.justgiving.com/kris10